pharmacist looking at prescription

13 Insurance Company Classifications For Dysphagia

The International Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th Revision (ICD-10), is a classification system of diagnoses codes representing various conditions, diseases, injuries, symptoms, and health problems.  These classifications are used in the collection of data and statistics to support payment systems within insurance companies, service planning, administration of quality and safety, and health services research.  As it pertains to the discussion of dysphagia, the ICD-10 code R13.10 corresponds to a specific diagnosis related to dysphagia. It is used to broadly indicate "Dysphagia, unspecified." 

The specific code is used to classify cases where a patient is experiencing difficulty or discomfort in swallowing, but the specific cause or nature of the dysphagia is unknown. It's a general code that doesn't provide additional details about the underlying condition causing the swallowing difficulty. In clinical coding, the use of "unspecified" codes might occur when the healthcare provider's documentation doesn't provide enough information to assign a more specific code.

It's worth noting that while this code captures the symptom of dysphagia itself, medical professionals aim to identify and address the underlying causes of dysphagia in order to provide appropriate treatment and management. If you're dealing with dysphagia or seeking information about a specific case, it's important to consult with a healthcare provider who can recommend appropriate interventions.

In the International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision (ICD-10), there are several codes that pertain to various aspects of dysphagia, including its causes, types, and complications. Here are some ICD-10 codes related to dysphagia:

  1. R13.10: Dysphagia, unspecified
  2. R13.11: Dysphagia, oral phase
  3. R13.12: Dysphagia, oropharyngeal phase
  4. R13.13: Dysphagia, pharyngeal phase
  5. R13.14: Dysphagia, pharyngoesophageal phase
  6. K22.0: Achalasia of cardia
  7. K22.2: Dyskinesia of esophagus
  8. K22.4: Dysphagia, oral phase
  9. K22.5: Dysphagia, oropharyngeal phase
  10. K22.6: Dysphagia, pharyngeal phase
  11. K22.7: Dysphagia, pharyngoesophageal phase
  12. K22.8: Other specified diseases of esophagus
  13. K22.9: Disease of esophagus, unspecified

Please note that these codes cover a range of dysphagia-related conditions, including specific phases of swallowing difficulty (such as oral, oropharyngeal, and pharyngeal), as well as underlying causes and related diseases affecting the esophagus.

It's important to consult with a healthcare professional to accurately assign the appropriate ICD-10 code based on the specific diagnosis and clinical documentation for each individual case of dysphagia. The codes provided here are for informational purposes and should not be used for formal medical coding without proper evaluation, documentation and understanding.

Back to blog