person cutting a kiwi

IDDSI Level 5 Food Diet: Explained

The Dysphagia Diet Level 5, also known as the Dysphagia Minced and Moist Food Diet, is a dietary plan designed for individuals with moderate swallowing difficulties (dysphagia). This level of the diet focuses on providing foods that are moist and minced, making them easier to chew and swallow for individuals who have difficulty with regular textured foods.

Here are the characteristics of the Dysphagia Diet Level 5:


  • Foods at this level are minced, moist, and easy to chew, reducing the need for extensive chewing and making swallowing safer.
  • Foods are prepared to a texture that is easily manageable for individuals with compromised swallowing function.
  • The goal is to minimize the risk of choking and aspiration while still providing some variety in texture.

Examples of Foods:

  • Moist and minced meats (e.g., finely chopped chicken, ground beef)
  • Cooked vegetables that are soft and easy to chew (e.g., well-cooked carrots, spinach)
  • Soft and moist fruits (e.g., ripe bananas, cooked apples)
  • Soft casseroles and dishes that are easy to break down with minimal chewing


  • Individuals on the Dysphagia Diet Level 5 should continue to work closely with healthcare professionals to ensure that their nutritional needs are met.
  • The focus is on providing foods that are safe to swallow while maintaining adequate nutrition and hydration.

It's important to remember that the Dysphagia Diet Level 5 is tailored for individuals with moderate swallowing difficulties and should be followed under the guidance of healthcare professionals. The diet may need to be adapted based on an individual's specific condition and preferences. For more information please visit

Back to blog