nurse listening to patient

IDDSI Level 6 Food Diet: Explained

The Dysphagia Diet Level 6, also known as the Dysphagia Soft and Bite Sized Diet, is a dietary plan designed for individuals with mild to moderate swallowing difficulties (dysphagia). This level of the diet focuses on providing foods that are soft and easily chewed, allowing for more natural eating experiences while still minimizing the risk of choking and aspiration.

Here are the characteristics of the Dysphagia Diet Level 6:


  • Foods at this level are soft and perhaps require minimal chewing effort.
  • The texture of the foods is chosen to facilitate safe swallowing and reduce the risk of choking.
  • While the foods are more textured than those in Level 5, they are still prepared in a way that makes swallowing manageable.

Examples of Foods:

  • Soft-cooked meats that are easy to chew (e.g., tender chicken, ground turkey)
  • Cooked vegetables that are soft and easily mashed with a fork (e.g., steamed broccoli, mashed sweet potatoes)
  • Soft fruits that can be easily broken down (e.g., ripe pears, peaches)
  • Soft pasta dishes, risotto, and casseroles


  • Individuals on the Dysphagia Diet Level 6 should always continue to collaborate with healthcare professionals to ensure that their nutritional needs are met.
  • The focus is on providing foods that are safe and comfortable to swallow while maintaining adequate nutrition and hydration.

It's crucial to remember that the Dysphagia Diet Level 6 is intended for individuals with specific swallowing needs and should be followed under the guidance of healthcare professionals. The diet may need to be tailored based on an individual's unique condition and preferences. Please refer to for more information.

Back to blog